Post-BE Common?

General hip-hop discussion.

Moderators: TheBigSleep, stype_ones, Philaflava

SYM
The Overlord of Overthinking

Post-BE Common?

Post by SYM »

Just listened to BE for the first time in several years. Was not surprised to find out it holds up immensely; might be one of my personal favorites of his. Likely due to the Kanye production but I think what I liked most about it is how restrained it is. Super quick listen with little filler.

It also is the last album I ever bought of Common's, so I have zero knowledge of any material past this. According to wiki he has five more albums he released. Are any of these any good? Better than Electric Circus?

step one

Re: Post-BE Common?

Post by step one »

I'm think I'm one of the few here who will check for Common. I haven't heard UMC but Finding Forever had a few good tracks in The Game, The People and Southside, which are all Kanye productions.
Nobody's Smiling wasn't too bad although the song with Vince Staples (Kingdom) is the only one I still play.

Didn't get round to listening to the last one he put out as I can't really be bothered with new rap anymore but as a general rule all his albums have 2-3 standout songs worth having (if you don't hate him, obviously)
ONLY BUILT FOR zSHARE LINKS
http://www.djstepone.blogspot.com

Philaflava
King of The DPB'rs

Post by Philaflava »

EC was horrible I thought. Be was his best post-Like Water.

fatboybrandon

Post by fatboybrandon »

Yeah I thought BE was pretty good but haven't listened to it in a few years. I find a lot of Common's post BE-material to be good, although no longer Resurrection 90's-sounding it displays nice growth both musically and in the message of a socially-conscious MC.