Donald Sterling and the Aryan Brotherhood

Discuss all sports including fantasy and online gambling.

Moderator: Gregg Popabitch

Gregg Popabitch

Donald Sterling and the Aryan Brotherhood

Post by Gregg Popabitch »

I'm trying to clean up the NBA Playoff thread as best as possible to keep it more basketball related.

All racist stuff go in here from now on.

naturalborn103

Re: Donald Sterling and the Aryan Brotherhood

Post by naturalborn103 »

With the exception of a three-year period (1993-96) when I was covering the NFL, I've been covering the NBA since 1987. I've had one conversation with Sterling. It lasted about four minutes. This was in 2006, when the Clippers, to the surprise of the entire western world, didn't have a team that stunk. They had a functioning Elton Brand and Chris Kaman, and an old head in Sam Cassell, and a coach in Mike Dunleavy -- who, just a few years later, would have to sue Sterling to get what had been promised him contractually -- who made the Clips into a promising squad.
Anyway, the Clippers were in the playoffs for the first time in years, and playing the Denver Nuggets. At halftime of one of the games, I was talking to the team's GM, Elgin Baylor -- who, just a few years later, would have to sue Sterling to get what had been promised him contractually. I mentioned, quite casually and not expecting anything in response, that I had never met Sterling.
Elgin got a look on his face. It was a familiar look; the look of someone who was about to do something he really didn't want to do, but felt obligated to do -- like shovel five feet of snow off the elderly neighbor's stoop.
"You want to meet him?," Elgin asked.
"Uh, sure," I said. It was halftime of a playoff game -- the clock was running in the press room at Staples. How much damage could be done in one pithy conversation?