An ignorant rap fan comes up to you...

Non-hiphop forum dedicated to the wonderful world of music.

Moderator: Philaflava

Reason
Kim Jong iLL

An ignorant rap fan comes up to you...

Post by Reason »

...and says, "I listen to ONLY rap music. I don't have any idea what is good, what is popular (besides quick billboards glances and radio snippets before changing to Hot 97) , or what is available. Enlighten me."

So what would you recommend. What genres, let's say top 5, would be most important in your estimation? On top of that, what are some essential songs from each of those genres?

This will lead to my education. My complete library of music has the following non hip hop: Mozart, Weezer from that blue-covered jawn, and that's pretty much it. What I have heard from Iron Maiden (Mr. Crowley) is pretty fucking awesome. But I have no other basis or knowledge for this shit. Rolling Stones? Led Zeppelin? Who's the more essential listen? Other genres of music? Wtf is with this Coldplay love? Are they worth checking out? Did Katy Perry really kiss a girl and if so can you provide video? Etc.

I have internet access and I'm not afraid to use it. I will even be willing to make some kind of :phila: essentials compilation for non-rap. I just want to get my learn on and maybe some of yall are bored enough to entertain me. If this thread ends up being 15 posters randomly posting some tracks they think are important for the general edification on a genre of music, mission accomplished and downloads will be had.

I also used to have Grant Green blues shit that I dug. Funk/jazz/basically anything would be greatly appreciated. No techno though k thx.
Nets 2022

drizzle
Awesome Vatican Assassin
Location: where people throw ducks at balloons and nothing is as it seems

Post by drizzle »

like i be tellin' shorty, shorty you don't even need to solicit advice, just click on that fuckin' a thread and you'll get all the education you need