Dump my music collection???

Reminisce about the golden era of hip-hop.

Moderators: TheBigSleep, djfilthyrich

vincentlopez

Dump my music collection???

Post by vincentlopez »

With three children and toys everywhere, I’ve been having an ongoing battle with the wife about getting rid of my stuff in the basement. About 5,000 CD’s plus vinyl, and cassette tapes, which are mostly hip-hop, jazz, and R&B/soul. Tons of books plus old DVD’s and VHS tapes, as well. Then there’s her problem with my music magazine collection (Source, XXL, Vibe, Blaze, One World, etc.), which would probably make us end up in divorce court, so that is off limits no matter what she says.

So it all boils down to getting rid of the music collection which sadly sits in multiple dusty boxes because I have 90% of it on my hard drive or uploaded to Google Play. I’m really stressing over this because I’ve been collecting music since 1984 and can remember when and where I bought every meaningful piece of my collection, not including those old Columbia House deals. I wanted to pass it on to my children one day but ironically, their toys are squeezing me out of space!!! And would they even appreciate old CD's in this digital world?

Then out of nowhere, I saw this article yesterday and I didn’t feel alone in the world.

http://verysmartbrothas.com/im-thinking ... n-hold-me/

Has anyone else been pondering what to do with their physical music collection? Any battles with your significant other over space?
~Get those old Source magazines here~
http://thimk.wordpress.com

LONDON

Re: Dump my music collection???

Post by LONDON »

ha ha, no question, i've got a huge vinly collection i can't play properly because i ain't got a proper decks just some shitty mini hi-fi/run down turntable system, ha ha, but i'm looking too put a lot of my shit in a storage collection facility onced i get enough consistent bread too maintain that status